2024 Essay Contest Results

Essay Contest Chair:   Bomsaerah Seong

The results of the 37th annual Great Women in Engineering and Science Essay Contest are in! The competition was fierce again this year with 38 entries from 9 schools in Colorado and Wyoming. A panel of volunteer judges enjoyed reviewing all of the essays. Congratulations to every entrant!

The Great Women in Engineering and Science the students selected to write an essay about this year were:

  • Katherine Johnson – 20th Century Physicist and Mathematician
  • Mary Anning – 18th Century Paleontologist
  • Edith Clarke – 19th Century Electrical Engineer
  • Rosalyn Yalow – 20th Century Medical Physicist
  • Sylvia Earle – 20th Century Marine Biologist and Aquanaut

The top three awards are a $250, $150, and $100 prize in addition to a science kit and science book. The honorable merit recipients will receive a science kit, and the honorable mention recipients will receive a science book. The top three award winners are listed below in no particular order. They will also be announced in a video that will be shared with the teachers of the finalists.

Madden of Castle Pines, CO for an essay on Sylvia Earle. Madden attends 6th grade at DCS Montessori Charter School and was sponsored by teacher Tara Hook.

Samantha of Colorado Springs, CO for an essay on Mary Anning. Samantha attends 6th grade at Eagle View Middle School and was sponsored by teacher Jenine Winslow.

Siddhi of Highlands Ranch, CO for an essay on Edith Clarke. Siddhi attends 6th grade at STEM School Highlands Ranch and was sponsored by teacher Rachel Espinosa.

School Awards: This year one school will receive the school library award for outstanding participation in the essay contest. To qualify for this award a school must submit essays from at least 20% of the sixth graders in the participating classes. The books provide information on women engineers and scientists. These excellent references will support teachers and classrooms in future research, not only for this contest, but also for other scientific, historical, or biographical projects.

The aim of the school library award is two-fold: to supply 6 th graders throughout Colorado and Wyoming with research materials and to encourage teachers to include the essay contest in their curricula in order to expose all of their students to the significance and opportunities of science-related careers. The schools receiving awards this year are:

  • Cherry Valley Elementary School, Franktown, CO

Honorable Merit Awards: Four students will receive Honorable Merit Awards this year. This year’s prize is a Thames & Kosmos Chemistry Chem C500 Science Kit. The Honorable Merit award recipients are:

  • Rylee – Redlands Middle School
  • Greysen – La Veta Public School
  • Emma – Eagle View Middle School
  • Lucia – Eagle View Middle School
  • Izzi – Redlands Middle School

Honorable Mention Awards: Five students will receive Honorable Mention Awards this year. This year’s prize is the book Hidden Systems: Water, Electricity, the Internet, and the Secrets Behind the Systems We Use Every Day by Dan Nott. The Honorable Mention award winners are:

  • Thema – Eagle View Middle School
  • Logan – Rockridge Elementary School
  • Cassidy – Cherry Valley Elementary School
  • Madison – La Veta Public School
  • Pehel – STEM School Highlands Ranch

Thank you to the panel of judges who spent their valuable time reviewing the essays. Without their commitment this contest would not be possible.

2024 Scholarship Awards

2024 Scholarship Awards

Scholarship Chairs:​Sarah Green (Entering Freshmen) and Jennifer Buechler (College) The Society of Women Engineers Rocky Mountain Section awards scholarships each year to students entering college and students in college in CO & WY. These scholarships are meant to help students continue to excel and reach their educational goals. We want to give a special thank you…

2024 RMS Summit Awards
Members | Awards

2024 RMS Summit Awards

The SWE RMS Summit Awards are presented to RMS members, teams, or collegiates who have made an outstanding contribution to activities within RMS during the fiscal year. Nominees are judged based on the significance of the achievements cited on behalf of the nominee and on the contributions of the nominee to various RMS activities. RMS Summit…

2024 Spring Summit Recap
College | Prof Dev

2024 Spring Summit Recap

2024 Spring Summit Recap RMS brings you ​this one day professional development conference and awards ceremony. The 2024 Spring Summit co-hosted by Rocky Mountain Section and University of Colorado Denver Section was a great success! The theme was Empowering Possibilities – reflecting on purpose, resilience, and joy, we strengthen our connection, empowering ourselves and each other. It was…

Awards | General | Members | Prof Dev

RMS at WE23 Los Angeles

Over 50 RMS representatives traveled to Los Angeles to attend the world’s largest conference for women in engineering and technology from October 26-28. More members joined the conference virtually. Congratulations to the 2023 award recipients. RMS was recognized for the Mission Awards. You may read more about those on the WE23 Mission Awards blog post….

SWE Mission Award Profession 2023 Gold Badge

WE23 Mission Awards

SWE Rocky Mountain Section was honored at WE23 with SWE Mission awards. The aim of these awards is to highlight areas of focus within the SWE strategic goals and showcase groups that have gone above and beyond to help make these goals a reality. RMS was recognized with: 2023 SWE Mission Gold RMS was one…

2023 WE Local Awards

2023 WE Local Awards

RMS received two WE Local awards in 2023 and accepted both awards in person at WE Local Seattle. ​ RMS Members at 2023 WE Local Seattle Awards Celebration with FY23 President Dayna Johnson The Spring Summit is a one-day conference for engineers, technologists, students, and diversity champions to connect through professional development workshops, inspirational speakers,…