RMS Organization Structure

RMS is a professional section of the Society of Women Engineers, led by an Executive Council and Committees.

RMS Governance

SWE Rocky Mountain Section is a subordinate to the Society of Women Engineers and is governed by the SWE Society Bylaws, the Section Agreement, and further defined by RMS Procedures. RMS modified sections within the RMS Section Agreement with the Executive Council Procedure. RMS developed the Committee Procedure to be in compliance with our Section Agreement that requires standing committees for the section be defined in the Section Procedures.

Brown Wooden Scrabble Tiles
SWE Society Bylaws
Black Pens on White Printer Paper
RMS Section Agreement
Brown Wooden Scrabble Tiles on the Table
Executive Council Procedure
Brown Wooden Scrabble Tiles on the Table
Committee Procedure

RMS developed additional procedures, including a Financial Assessment Procedure, a Nominating Committee Procedure, and a Travel Travel Expense Reimbursement Procedure. Copies of these are available upon request.

Leadership Structure

The Executive Council Procedure was adopted by RMS in October 2021. The officers of the section are the president, 1st vice president, up to four 2nd vice presidents, secretary, and treasurer. The focus areas of the 2nd vice presidents may be amended as best serves the Section. The focus areas were revised in June 2022 to align with the signature focus areas of Membership, Outreach, and Professional Development and reenergize a focus on Collegiate Engagement. This also removed the previous uncertainty in responsibilities between the Professional Development and Professional Enrichment focus areas.

The Executive Council is formed of the:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Vice President of Collegiate Engagement
  • Vice President of Membership
  • Vice President of Outreach
  • Vice President of Professional Development
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

The Executive Council established standing and ad-hoc committees as part of the leadership structure to support our large section with meaningful activities, events, and programs. Each committee is led by a chair, and chair positions may be singular or split into shared roles. Each committee has an Executive Council contact.